The Conversion

pfitmhes img_0413

Have you ever wondered what it is like to be a traditional student, or do you wonder what it is like to be a student-athlete? Luckily for you I have the answers that you are looking for.  My freshman and beginning of sophomore year I played football here at Samford University.  For the people who go throughout their day wondering what can I do with all the time on my hands, it is safe to say that there are some students who never get to ask that question.  Samford Athletes whether in season or out are always working to perfect their game, either conditioning with the team or putting in work on your own to work on your weaknesses to become the best you can be.

When an athlete is in season, all of their “free time” is devoted to school work.  That is because that is all the time they have to do their school work is after dinner at the luxurious “caf”. A day in the life of a Samford Football Player would consist of 6:00 a.m. workouts, school until 2, meetings from 2:30 to 4:00, then practice from 4-6, then eat from about 6:30-7:30 give or take, then it comes time to do all of the homework and studies that you have to do for the week.  This is typical the routine of every school day for the majority of the first semester.  Sunday is the only day where a Samford Football player has its day off, with which they can catch up on laundry, sleep in, and hang out with friends.

On the other side of the fence is the life of a regular student at Samford.  The transition from the life of an athlete to a student was tough at the beginning.  I didn’t know how much time I would actually have so I had no idea how to transition.  The conversion was difficult at first but I learned to fill my day with activities to keep me busy.  I now have time to do laundry, work out, work a job, and hang out with fraternity brothers and other friends.

The life of a Samford Athlete is more difficult than it looks. There are many hours of preparation before and after they play their sport.  There are limited hours of free time for the athletes as it is mostly study time and trying to catch up on laundry.  Some athletes are jealous of the amount of free time that regular students have to hang out with friends, finish homework early in the day to free up their nights, and are able to go home to see their families on any given weekend.  As a former Samford Athlete, I can tell you that regular students have it easy when it comes to school work, because of all the time they have to study and prepare for classes while athletes only have limited hours before they get exhausted or have to cram to get work done in all of their classes.

3 thoughts on “The Conversion”

  1. I truly agree with your article! Although I myself have never been a student athlete, I have many friends that are where I see them struggling each day to find time to do normal college student things. Sadly, those are the people that I do not get to spend as much time with compared to my non-athlete friends. Reading about what a day in the life of an athlete really entails was pretty surprising actually. I had no idea how jam-packed each day was.

    Like

  2. This is a great article. I myself gave up playing a sport in college, and it was one of the hardest decisions of my life. I at times am actually jealous of student athletes because I miss the workout, the practices, and the opportunity to put on a jersey and represent my school. It was very interesting to hear your perspective from both sides of the spectrum.

    Like

  3. I appreciate you sharing this perspective, David. I think you make some solid points about the time afforded to non-athletes, and how it may be taken for granted. However, one could argue that all of that free time does not necessarily lead to more academic productivity. When free time is limited, it won’t go to waste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

